Where were you when the world stopped turning? – 9/11

Where were you when the world stopped turning?

I remember. 7th grade. Eating lunch in the cafeteria at school.

I will never forget how it all unfolded at school. I was just eating lunch with my friends at school and our principal came in to make an announcement. All I remember him saying was that there had been a plane crash in New York. We all just went on with our lunch period as if nothing had happened. We were only 13-years old, we didn’t get it. We were more worried about our french fries and chicken nuggets than just another plane crash. And it was so far away from us we just didn’t get why he would come into lunch and tell us about a plane crash.

It wasn’t until a little bit later when I started going to more classes that I realized it was more than a plane crash. Kids started leaving school, I saw friends crying and talking to their parents on their cell phones about family members in New York that work in the area were the plane crash happened. My mom chose to not pick me up from school and I remember a few teachers talking to us about what happened.

But it didn’t really start to set in until I got home. I remember seeing my mom sitting in front of the television crying and seeing the footage of the planes crashing into the Twin Towers. And then I heard there was another crash not far from where I live. It crashed into a field only 40 miles away in Shanksville, Pa. I have since visited the memorial there several times.

I will never forget how I felt that day. How I didn’t understand at first and how I will now never forget the tragic events that shocked our country. It changed everything. I will never forget all of the heroes. And my hearts will always be with the families of those who did not survive on that terrible day.

Where were you when the world stopped turning?

XOXO — Abbey

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Where were you when the world stopped turning? – 9/11

  1. Nanny says:

    I was in school with you, only in Spanish class! Brings tears to my eyes thinking about that terrible day. Love you, sis.

  2. I was working at USAir, in our Quality Assurance Department. About half of us were in PIT in our home office while the other half of our department were on the road conducting vendor and station audits. I don’t remember exactly who broke the news first, but someone said an airplane hit the WTC. I said, how could you hit it when the skies are clear with unlimited visibility? In fact, the weather was about the same as it was today, maybe a tad bit warmer. Anyway, it did not take long for us to say “terrorists”, especially after the second plane hit……

    Our manager and someone else were on the phones trying to track down the rest of our auditors: two were in Philly doing and audit, one was still on an airplane on the tarmac in PIT, locked down!, and I think another was in California doing vendor audits. Fortunately, no one was in the air and we tracked everyone down, then checked in with other departments who had people who travelled to make sure our co-workers were accounted for…

    Even though they weren’t our airplanes, the pilots and flight attendants aboard those doomed flights were still part of our family. Needless to say, we didn’t really get much work done that day…………….

Leave a Reply

