Cait Cuneo — Rising Star In Pittsburgh

Cait Cuneo has that thing. You know that thing I’m talking about. When you can just look at someone and say, “That girl is going to be famous one day.”

Photo Credit: Joey Kennedy

A native of Connellsville in southwestern Pennsylvania, Cait possesses a star quality that not every typical girl has. She’s got the look, the style, the confidence, the heart and most of all, talent.

Cait’s original music which is combined by elements of R&B, Hip Hop and Soul is inspired by greats such as Billie Holiday and Etta James.

Photo Credit: Joey Kennedy

Before reading one more word just play the video below. Her soulful voice speaks for itself.

Now that we are all on the same page check out my short Q & A session with Cait below to learn more about this rising star!

R&B and soul isn’t the most popular genre around Southwestern Pennsylvania…what motivated you to go in that direction?

Cait: The first time I sang with a band is when I discovered my individual timbre. I started listening to vocalists and styles of music that related to my tone. I love strong female singers because that is what I aspire to be. I love the greats, the first rock stars in my eyes: Billie Holiday, Sarah Vaughan, and Ella Fitzgerald. Than eventually started listening to Aretha Franklin, Erykah Badu, and Jill Scott. New artists I’m feeling right now would include Robert Glasper especially his album “Black Radio” and Jose James.

How did you get into music? Did you always know you wanted to pursue music as a career?

Cait: Music was always a big part of my life especially because my mother is a music teacher. I was exposed to different styles of music in my household and was always involved in musical activities in and outside of school. I always knew I wanted to be a performer. The only thing that changed was the type of performer I wanted to become. As I grew older and discovered new music my aspirations for my career changed. I always found it extremely special how much we can evolve and grow as individuals.

When did you perform on stage for the first time?

Cait: I was involved in theater and dancing from a young age but the first time I sang with a band was when I fifteen years old. I sang at an outdoor music festival. I was so nervous although I was only singing two songs and the audience could care less. That day on the stage I just knew I wanted to pursue and establish a career out of performing. I absolutely fell in love with being the front woman.

How many bands have you been in?

Cait: I sang with a local band called “The Leisenring Family Band” before I attended Berklee. I was involved in “The P-Funk All-stars” ensemble in school that gave me many opportunities to perform for Berklee events and Boston festivities. After that I formed the band “Black Coffee” and toured with them for the past two years.

Tell me about your experience at Berklee.

Cait: My Berklee experience has taught me so much about music and myself. I also love the city of Boston. One of my favorite things about Berklee, other than the exceptional talent, was the diversity in culture with my fellow classmates. You become a part of the Berklee family that include people that are just like you. I was discovering instrumentation and genres I have never heard before. There is something that is indescribable when you can walk into your cafeteria and hear the best voice or sound you have ever heard in your life. I have chills just thinking about it. Moments like that are the ones I cherish.

Do you play instruments as well or do you focus on vocals?

Cait: I write music on piano and studied for many years. Usually I just stick to vocals live because that is where my passion lies and is the only way I know how to fully express myself.

Tell me about your first single “Truth” and your new album. 

Cait: “Truth” is my debut single and I am working endless hours to finish the entire album. This album is a representation of the music I believe in and the new sound I fell in love with. My first E.P. is titled “Violet” I am hoping to release it soon along with my first music video. “Violet” stands for strength, women empowerment, heart, light, guidance, and individuality. Within the E.P. you will hear the concrete struggle that was necessary in order for me to develop my strength and find my own voice. I am anxious to share this part of me with my listeners.

I love your style! Where do you shop?

Cait: I love fashion and being able to express myself as a woman, and how I feel that day. I like to be loud through my look. The styles that usually catch my eye have a certain vintage, feminine, and urban edge. I can usually find a piece I like in any store. Usually as a musician our wallets are a bit deserted but even on hard days, I try to implore as much glamour into my look as possible.

What are your hopes and dreams?

Cait: My dream is to create music for the world to hear. My hope is that this music can influence people with its positive message. I believe that everyone has a dream that deserves notice, and that is why I write, sing, and perform music.

Photo Credit: Joey Kennedy

If you loved what you heard from Cait head over to her indiegogo site to help fund her first album. For only $5 dollars you can get her amazing single “Truth” or a digital copy of “Violet” before the official release date for only $10. Get all of that plus a physical copy of the CD signed by Cait for $25. There are plenty of other options to contribute so definitely get over to Cait’s indigogo and support local music.

Also, make sure you check out Cait’s website, follow her on twitter and like her on Facebook!

There is just something about Cait and her voice that just draws me in. I can’t wait to hear more from her and watch her continue to succeed.

XOXO – Abbey

http://abbeyway.yolasite.com/

Follow me on Twitter!

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Cait Cuneo — Rising Star In Pittsburgh

  1. Nanny says:

    She is really good!

  2. Carrie and Randy Breakiron says:

    Cait has amazing talent, so proud of her

  3. Gayle Cuneo says:

    Thanks Abbey for the lovely feature on your blog. I am a believer!
    Gayle Cuneo

  4. […] If you wan’t to learn more about Cait check out my feature, Cait Cuneo: Rising Star In Pittsburgh […]

Leave a Reply

