Why I Chopped My Hair Off!

Wow! I haven’t posted on here in almost a month and this post in particular is waaaaaay overdue!

On January 30, 2012 (3 months ago) I cut my hair from my middle torso to above my shoulders, for the first time EVER!

843126_10152504301920492_1847053580_o

Why? To donate it to a good cause, so someone else who can’t grow their own hair due to cancer treatments, can feel confident in a gorgeous wig that was made with my hair and about 5 more pony tails from others.

798410_451920431529134_1768735567_o

It takes about 6 ponytails to make a wig for Pantene Beautiful Lengths. I chose Pantene Beautiful Lengths because all of their real hair wigs are donated  and 100 percent free to women who are fighting cancer!

IMG_20130510_103334

Like just about everyone these days, when I cut my hair I knew a very special person who was fighting cancer herself. Since then my aunt Debbie has passed away but I know it meant a lot to her and her family that I donated my hair in honor of her during her difficult battle. She was such a beautiful person inside and out and I know she would be glad that someone is proudly wearing the wig that was made with my hair, in her honor.

190746_1012033001583_7177780_n

If you are interested in donating these are the requirements you want to know:

1. Must be at least 8 inches long

2. No bleaches/dyes/chemicals

3. No more than 5 percent grey

When you are ready to make the cut just put your hair in a low pony and secure with a hair tie then put another one at the bottom of your pony tail just to keep it all in place. But remember it has to be at least 8 inches long.

howtomake_cut5

Make the cut just above the elastic and be sure to make it high enough that it all stays in place. Do not style/wash your hair pony tail after it is cut.

howtomake_cut6

Place your pony tail in a zip lock bag so it is secure  for shipping.

howtomake_cut7

Place the plastic bag with the ponytail in a padded or plastic envelope and send to:
Pantene Beautiful Lengths
Attn: 192-123 20770
Westwood Dr
Strongsville, OH 44149

howtomake_cut8

For more information go to Pantene.com 

If you were bummed to learn that Pantene does not accept dyed hair…no worries! Locks of Love does accept colored hair! But like Pantene, they do not accept hair that is bleached. For more information on how to donate to Locks of Love  go to their website!

I donated my hair to Lock of Love in 2008 but chose not to this time because they sometimes charge the recipients for the wigs and they donate only to children not adults. This is a statement from their website: “The children receive hair prostheses free of charge or on a sliding scale, based on financial need.”

This is  a throw back photo from 2008 when I donated my hair to Locks of Love! My hair was much longer back then compared to what it was when I donated it this year. In 2008 I donated a foot of hair and it was still below my shoulders! The photo on the right was taken the day I donated it.

Blog Stuff 20131

And this photo is my progress so far! From left to right is the before, the day it was cut and my most recent photo! I’m still not completely used to my “new look” and after 3 months I really thought it would have grown a little bit more but it will be back before I know it!

Blog Stuff 20133

I hope you make the choice to donate your hair if it is long enough! Believe me it is such a good feeling, although a little shocking at first,  but you will be happy that you did in the long run!

XOXO – Abbey

http://abbeyway.yolasite.com/

Follow me on Twitter!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Why I Chopped My Hair Off!

Leave a Reply

