Workout Wednesday: Tennis!

I’m so obsessed with tennis right now! I never played until last summer and I’m not very good, at all,  but I love playing! It is one of those workouts were you are having so much fun playing that you don’t even realize that you are working out.

IMG_20130531_195128

A few weeks ago when the weather got warmer I started playing with my boyfriend again and I am on a mission to beat him. I love a competition and he is a lot better than me so I have so much fun trying to win.  When my little sister came home from college we started playing him 2 on 1 and he still beat us the majority of the time.  But now my older sister is home so we have been playing 2 on 2, my little sister and I vs. my older sister and my boyfriend. Those teams are pretty fair so the games are really close and so much fun!

May 20131

We pretty much made up our own rules as far as keeping score and just go by you score a point if you score on your own serve. And we play to 11 win by 2.

May 20132

 

Not only is tennis super fun but you can burn a bunch of calories as well! According to the University of Maryland Medical Systems Calories Burned Calculator, if you play singles tennis for 30 minutes at an average intensity and weigh 200 pounds, you will burn 266 calories. If you play for an hour, you will burn 533 calories. If you weigh 150 pounds and play for 30 minutes, you will burn 200 calories.

Plus the best part is you don’t even need that much to play just a friend, a racket and some tennis balls and a tennis court!

 

Happy Workout Wednesday!

XOXO – Abbey

http://abbeyway.yolasite.com/

Follow me on Twitter!

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

