Green Smoothie Meal Prep

collageI’ve been on a serious smoothie kick lately and I’m loving it! It makes it so easy to get a quick meal in on the go when I’m rushing to work in the morning. But what makes it even simpler is, if I have my smoothies prepared and ready to go in a baggie and I can just grab one out of the freezer and dump into the blender, with only having to add a limited amount of additional ingredients. In this case with the green smoothies, all I need is my pre-prepped bag, It Works Greens and water!

IMG_7654What I love most about this smoothie is that I have been able to incorporate a healthy ingredient into my diet that I never really did before, and that is Kale! I’m sure you’ve heard about it by now, because it’s been in the news and on health talk shows like Dr. Oz, a lot lately. And that is because this leafy green is packed with an amazing amount of antioxidants, omega-3 fatty acids, Vitamins K, A and C and it helps to fight against cancer, just to name a few benefits! Whenever I start my day with this green smoothie I feel totally energized without any added caffeine!

IMG_7658

This is what you need:

1/2 cup chopped Kale

1/4 cup Parsley

1 Banana

1 Apple

1 Pack of It Works Greens (Orange Flavor)

2 Cups Water

IMG_7649

IMG_7658

IMG_7657This is what you do:

Chop the parsley and the kale and separate into 2 different bowls so you can easily measure for each pack of ingredients.

Peel and chop apples and place in separate bowl.

Add the apple pieces, banana, kale and parsley into a freezer bag and voila! That’s it.

Put it in the freezer and when you are ready to drink up just get out your freezer bag and add 2 cups of water and the It Works Greens!

IMG_7652

IMG_7654

IMG_7659

IMG_7668

IMG_7669Instead of picking apples at the store I just picked some fresh ones at my boyfriend’s house with him!

20131004_183207

20131004_183013

20131004_182958

20131004_182941 (1)

Leave me a comment and let me know if you like it!

XOXO – Abbey

http://abbeyway.yolasite.com/

Follow me on Twitter!

Instagram

 

Thank you http://www.allthingsgd.com for the original recipe. Lots of great stuff on her site!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Green Smoothie Meal Prep

  1. […] For the how to on this smoothie and meal prep instructions that I highly recommend check out my post on how to pre-pack these kale, parsley and apple […]

Leave a Reply

