6 Steps to Instant Happiness

We’ve all been there. That moment when you just can’t take it anymore because you are having, you know, literally, the worst day ever! Well, I know I mostly post about healthy recipes and workouts but in case you forgot or missed it, this is my motto:

absolutely abbey photo 1st

 

And the whole have fun thing means BE HAPPY! Because you can’t have fun and not be happy, you just can’t. But if you are having the worst day ever, sitting in traffic, stepping in mud puddles, spilling salsa on your white shirt, whatever it is, it’s fixable. I don’t live my life being super duper happy every single day but I try my hardest to be happy. I can’t even tell you how many times my mom has said to me, “Abbey all you want to do is have fun.” Well you know what, so what if I do? I think the most important thing in life is being happy and if that means always wanting to have fun and make the most of everything, is it really such a bad thing?  Here are my secrets to instant happiness.

 

1. Smile

This one is easy. We all know how, even if you don’t feel like it just try! We smile because we are happy but smiling even when we aren’t can make us feel happy, it’s true! Psychological researches found compelling evidence that smiling causes people to feel happy, regardless of how they felt at first.

2. Laugh

Go online and watch some funny Youtube videos, watch your favorite comedy show or movie or call up the funniest person you know and laugh until it hurts! Laughing triggers an increase in endorphins, the brain chemicals known for their feel-good effect.  Try to belly laugh every single day, it will make you happy and you will get a little ab workout too! Laughing until you cry is my favorite tho, that’s how you know you are really, really happy.

3. Talk To Someone Who Is Happy

This goes right along with laughing. Call or talk face to face with someone who is already happy. Whether they are funny or not it will make you feel better to talk to someone who has something nice to say and help you take your mind off of whatever it is that was bothering you in the first place. Plus if you feel like you need to vent, a happy person should make a good listener and help you release some tension. And if you can’t think of anyone to talk to, just watch Grandma Betty on Instagram! She reminds me so much of my Mommom and it makes me really happy to watch her videos on Instagram!

4. Sing At The Top Of Your Lungs

This is probably my number one favorite and most effective method, especially while driving. Yup, remember that show Motor Mouth, where people were caught on secret cameras singing in their cars? Well I could easily be a Youtube sensation if I ever get caught! I do this all of the time and trust me, I can’t carry a note, at all. But who cares? Turn up your favorite 90s pop song and sing it baby! Because you know you know every single word and who doesn’t love the 90s? Whatever your jam is, just go somewhere like in your shower, your car or even have a dance party in your house all by yourself because I promise you, you will forget so fast whatever made you stressed and you will be happy in no time. But remember, unless you are Beyonce, you should probably keep it to yourself.

5. Sweat Sweat Sweat

As if I haven’t already quoted Elle Woods from Legally Blonde before, here I go again! Her advice is just so brilliant, can you blame me?

“Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people don’t shoot their husbands. They just don’t!” – Elle Woods

Exercising is also tied at my number one way to instant happiness. There is nothing better than just sweating away all your problems. No matter what, an all out workout will always make you feel better.

6. Focus On The Positives

OK here’s the thing, I know you could possibly be having, “the worst day ever,” again. But, there has to be something good about it. So instead of thinking about your ruined shirt, or how you are 20 minutes late and you are going to get fail your exam, be happy that you simply woke up and have another chance at having the best  day ever, even if it feels like the worst. Every single day is a gift so try and live it like it could be your last.

happiness steps

Original Photo Credit: Kassie Jackson Photography

These are just 6 things that work for me. The only other piece of advice I have is just do whatever it is that makes you happiest. For me it’s definitely basketball. I’m the happiest with a basketball in my hands and no matter how bad I’m feeling I know a good old game of basketball will make me feel better! So go after whatever “that thing” is for you and just do it!

I would love to hear what your tips to happiness are so leave a comment below or let me know on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram!

 

XOXO – Abbey

http://abbeyway.yolasite.com/

Follow me on Twitter and like my Facebook page!

Instagram

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “6 Steps to Instant Happiness

Leave a Reply

