Concussion Recovery Series: Good And Bad News

I’m at the 16 week mark since the day of the car accident and it’s been just about 4 weeks since I’ve been released to start working out. Every day I feel myself getting stronger physically and my brain is slowly getting better as well. Although I’m getting better I still have  a lot of recovery ahead of me and I’m dealing with daily headaches/migraines.

The most exciting news since the last update is that I got my “Thinking Speed” on the Impact test up to 23% from 13%. 23% is not great but it is certainly better than 13%. I’m also going to physical therapy 3 days a week for my neck, back and shoulders and 1 day a week for my concussion exertion therapy.

For all the updates and a look into what I’ve been doing for the past 3 weeks watch the video below!

As always please share this series with young athletes who need to be more educated about concussions! I wish I knew then what I know now about brain injuries, especially sports related ones.

Bad things happen to everybody. Don't let the bad things be what defines you. It's the way you respond to the bad things that are really important. Today was day 4 of working out again and it feels amazing. The good feelings that come from working out with all I've got over powers the pains that come with a concussion. It's going to take a week or so just to get used to lifting again but I know I'm going to come back even stronger than I was before. Every day I wake up with so much motivation to do better than I did yesterday. Sometimes it takes life punching you in the face to realize how much you really need something. I always knew I couldn't live without fitness but now I know how real that statement was to me.

A post shared by Abbey Way (@absolutelyabbey11) on

XOXO – Abbey

 

http://abbeyway.yolasite.com/

 

Follow me on Twitter and like my Facebook page!

 

ig-badge-48

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

