“What happened to your body Abbey?”

Photo May 24, 2 05 08 PM.png

“What happened to your body Abbey? It looks bigger than before. Did you stop your healthy routine?”

This is a comment I received on one of my photos last week. I tried not to let it bother me but I will admit that it did for a few days.

I immediately turned to my husband to ask if I look out of shape. He laughed and said no.

He reminded me that my body has changed over time and that I’m healthier now than I was 20 pounds ago.

Skinny doesn’t mean healthy.

Having a 6 pack won’t make you happy.

I used to be so skinny that you could see every muscle and bone in my body. But I was so weak.

In college, I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism and for the first time in my life, I was actually gaining weight.

It was definitely an adjustment to see my body filling in more because I was used to being a size zero for years and years.

I went through a phase where I was feeling really insecure as my body changed. But this was also at the same time that my body was changing simply because I was also getting older! You can’t stay 19 years old forever!

My body changed and a lot of factors went into it. And change isn’t always easy.

I’ve continued to put on more weight and grow stronger pretty gradually since then.
Looking back I’m really happy with how far I’ve come since the days when you could see all my bones!

I think the muscles that I’ve gained represent years of hard work.

I’ve put a really big focus in the last year on being thankful for what my body is capable of and loving my body and all of my imperfections. Now that I’m not stressing over every little thing and trying to be “perfect” I’m so much happier!

Of course, I’m not where I want to be and I probably never will be! I want to constantly grow stronger physically and mentally.

It’s really hard to not look around and compare ourselves to others but I promise you if you can learn to just love your body at every stage you will truly feel confident and have way less stress in your life!

I still have goals and want to be better every day than I was yesterday but I am still going to love my body every step of the way.

I encourage you to do the same!

XOXO – Abbey

Follow me on Twitter and like my Facebook page!

Get Free Shipping and a 110% Money Back Guarantee on 1st Phorm Supplements HERE!

E-Mail me at AbsolutelyAbbey11@gmail.com with questions!

ig-badge-48

 

Leave a Reply

